Notes from the desk

The-writer2-300x225

Time for an update on my current busy-ness. Let’s start with comics:

  • My story The Fishers Also Shall Mourn has been accepted for Into the Woods 2, the second anthology of fairy tales edited by Stacey Whittle. I loved the first volume – a mix of reworkings of classic fairy tales and new stories in the genre. The Fishers… falls into this second category, and I can’t wait to see how it develops in the very capable hands of artist Brendan Purchase.
  • I’m delighted to be working with Barry Nugent in the universe of Unseen Shadows. Building from his novel, Fallen Heroes (a great read), Barry’s built an empire of comics spin-offs and audio-dramas, and has a further novel in the works. My story is in and approved and now it’s over to an art-bunny…
  • I’m also working on new titles for Disconnected Press, our erstwhile comics publishing venture. This autumn will see the launch of three new titles: vol 3 of Disconnected, our anthology of weird and wonderful stories set in small towns; Do Aliens Play Basketball?, an exploration of space and science in collaboration with Vashti Hallissey; and the somewhat leftfield Sentient Zombie Space Pigs, which does exactly what it says on the tin. You can follow progress on all of these at www.disconnectedpress.co.uk or by following @DisconnectedPrs on Twitter.

On the prose front, the novel moves on apace. I’ve had a few very productive writing sessions recently (TV off, mood music on, 1.5-2 hours of solid writing followed by a cake-shaped reward) and I’m aiming to finish draft number 1 by the end of May. At that point, look out here for excerpts…. I’m also out of the habit of writing short stories and flash fiction, so have been trying to carve some time for those too; a few have flown off to competition-land, but I’ll aim to share more on the blog soon.

And that’s it. I think. Time to get on….!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Notes from the desk

  1. Wow, what a long list of ongoing projects. I’ll look forward to seeing them. Well done Lizzie.

Leave a Reply

